Today i made pastichio which is a classic Greek casserole dish. I know most people know of mousaka, but, pastichio, is more kid friendly, since it is made with pasta. Well, it is made with large macaroni, like pasta the size of pencils, including the hole in the middle, some people in the states also use large ziti, for the pasta part. Then you have a ground meat, kimas, and again, it is the seasonings, which are basic, mbahari, spice, i don't know what this is in the states, but i am sure one can get it at a middle eastern deli, and bay leaves, then your typical onion, garlic, tomato, all chopped and sauteed, with the meat, salt pepper and a bunch of parsley. Trick with parsley, and herbs, get a pair of scissors for your kitchen and snip them with the scissors.
O.k. now the trick with pastichio and mousaka is really, the bachemel sauce, five tablespoons, butter or olive oil, five flour, make a rue, add about a liter of milk, but, when you are whisking the flour and fat for your rue, add, nutmeg a good amount like a teaspoon, this is the trick, and then when you add the milk and cook the rue, add an egg and whisk real hard, so you don't cook it, you add about two cups or one and half, of hard cheese, in the states romano, in Greece i like regato, or other good sharp hard cheeses, we have plenty.
So, today, is a holiday, i had a conversation, with my husband, about my ideas about lack of stimulation and realizing your "human"and coming down to earth is depressing. He worked with a rather well, known singer the other day, on an interview for television, and he really admires this woman, but, she is not doing well, emotionally, she is in her sixties, is a very talented artistic type not these morons, that have "careers"now a days here. Some days i think he loves his job, and i said to him, its hard to accept your humanness isn't it, especially when you are talented musically, and artistically. And I presented my thoughts, he was like yeah, that is one way of looking at it.
I think that my husband and I have a lot in common, which is why I married him, we seem to have the same tastes in things, and he keeps me growing, in myself, whether he realizes it or not. I think he does. At this time of my life though sometimes i live vicariously through him as far as the outside world is concerned since i am not in a career, outside of the home. Which is frustrating if you let it become frustrating. I know it is hard to embrace, being at home and not having a career at times, but, i think this is what is happening in my life, and i may as well, accept it and just really, let it sink in and not fret over it.
The other thing even though i have been recommending David Lynch films he hasn't seen I haven't been able to stay up and watch them with him. I don't know i just love to sleep and get plenty of rest, i really rest, now i don't mess with my sleep. So, he has been getting to watch Lynch festivals, all week, without me. Oh, well, hopefully tonight, i will be rested and wake up and watch World Series Baseball!!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment